Jump to content


- - - - -

model a hull from scratch knowing the offsets

ship geometry modelling

  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Ms. priyanka Gusain

Ms. priyanka Gusain

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts

Posted 01 February 2019 - 08:34 AM

hi all !

I'm working on Caeses for the first time. Can you please help me as in how i can create a Ship's hull knowing its offsets.

 

 

thank you !

 


  • 0

#2 Joerg Palluch

Joerg Palluch

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 457 posts
  • LocationBerlin, Germany

Posted 01 February 2019 - 09:29 AM

Hi Priyanka,

 

There is a tutorial section in the documentation browser of CAESES. I recommend to go through the most basic ones first, before you dive into ship hull modeling. There are a few concepts you need to learn and that are also important for ship hull design in CAESES (e.g. creating dependencies, 2D curves, parametric sweep surfaces / meta surfaces, parameters, design variables etc).

 

With this knowledge, you can then also start modeling a ship hull.

 

Hope this helps,

Joerg


  • 0

#3 Ms. priyanka Gusain

Ms. priyanka Gusain

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts

Posted 07 February 2019 - 06:07 PM

Thanx Joerg !

 

i have gone through that but I wanted to know if any detailed manual is there regarding how i can input offsets to model a hull.


  • 0

#4 Joerg Palluch

Joerg Palluch

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 457 posts
  • LocationBerlin, Germany

Posted 08 February 2019 - 07:01 AM

Hi there,

 

What we have seen so far is that users e.g. 

 

  • Import their offset data to CAESES either through file > import > offsets or through custom features.
  • Create curves from these data sets
  • Analyze these curves and intersect at relevant locations to create deck curves, waterline curve, center plane curve etc.
  • Based on these new curves, start creating a surface model using lofted (skinning) surfaces or meta surfaces

Check out this set of features for hull modeling, in particular, the OffsetGroupBaseCurves.fdf which creates the deck curve, waterline etc. from offset data.

 

Maybe anyone else can give you an example, I'll check again.

 

Cheers

Joerg


  • 0

#5 Ms. priyanka Gusain

Ms. priyanka Gusain

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts

Posted 10 February 2019 - 09:27 AM

hi Joerg !

 

i was trying to follow modelling of fast monohull but whatever input Im giving nothing is being displayed in the 3D view which earlier was being displayed.

 

How can I see whatever I'm creating in 3D window.


  • 0

#6 Joerg Palluch

Joerg Palluch

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 457 posts
  • LocationBerlin, Germany

Posted 11 February 2019 - 08:35 AM

Check the following:

 

  • Active filters right at the 3D view (buttons for point, curve, surface etc)
  • Active name filter at the 3D view
  • Your objects are not within the zoomed area
  • Visibility of the scopes in the object tree - maybe you clicked on a scope accidentally which sets it invisible
  • Visibility of objects in the object tree, the same as above

  • 0

#7 Ms. priyanka Gusain

Ms. priyanka Gusain

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts

Posted 13 February 2019 - 01:21 PM

hi Joerg

 

for fast monohull i was trying to input "section" for base curve but I am not able to do that as it is not taking any input.

 

abc1.jpg

 

also there are few errors which I am unable to understand.

 

abc3.jpg

 

 

Thanx !


  • 0

#8 Ceyhan Erdem

Ceyhan Erdem

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 65 posts

Posted 13 February 2019 - 02:35 PM

Hi Priyanka,

 

1) The input for the "Base Curve" within the Curve Engine, has to be in fact an attribute coming from the feature.

In your case, you are using the feature called "Aft Section" and you can find the available curves at the Drop Down List.

 

2) I can see that there are 7 errors, But from the console output it is possible to see only the last two. If you provide me a screen capture where I can see them all, I might be more helpful.

 

But most probably you forgot to define FOS or Beam as input argument.

 

Cheers

Ceyhan


  • 1

#9 Ms. priyanka Gusain

Ms. priyanka Gusain

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts

Posted 13 February 2019 - 02:44 PM

Hi Ceyhan

 

thank you very much.I have hereby attached the file.

 

please find the attachment.

Attached Files


  • 0

#10 Ceyhan Erdem

Ceyhan Erdem

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 65 posts

Posted 13 February 2019 - 03:44 PM

Hi Priyanka,

 

As guessed the argument FOS is missing within the arguments list.

You can create a new argument named FOS of double type, which might solve the problem.

 

Cheers

Ceyhan


  • -1

#11 Ms. priyanka Gusain

Ms. priyanka Gusain

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts

Posted 13 February 2019 - 05:15 PM

hi Ceyhan

 

Thanx for response !

 

I tried giving type Fdouble for FOS but it is automatically updating it to FobjectList and then the system is getting crashed each time i do it.

 

 

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_20190213_223906__01.jpg

  • 0

#12 Ceyhan Erdem

Ceyhan Erdem

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 65 posts

Posted 13 February 2019 - 07:43 PM

Hi Priyanka,

 

Please find the attached project.

 

changes made

an input argument of type Double for FOS

To the related Design Engine the base curve is assigned which is "section"

The coordinate system is changed to Y-(XZ)

 

And the project seems to be working.

 

Cheers

Ceyhan

Attached Files


  • 0

#13 Ms. priyanka Gusain

Ms. priyanka Gusain

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts

Posted 14 February 2019 - 09:41 AM

hi Ceyhan 

 

thank you so much!

 

Allow me to dig into the software a lil more..Ill be back with more questions.

 

 

cheers

Priyanka


  • 0

#14 Ms. priyanka Gusain

Ms. priyanka Gusain

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts

Posted 21 February 2019 - 10:42 AM

hi Ceyhan 

 

i was trying to create an existing hull form from offstes but I'm struggling with how to input those offsets.

 

can you please tell me how to start it.

 

thanx!


  • 0

#15 Ceyhan Erdem

Ceyhan Erdem

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 65 posts

Posted Yesterday, 10:23 AM

Hi Priyanka,

 

So you have a data set that you want CAESES to read it and create a hull form ?

 

Cheers

Ceyhan


  • 0

#16 Ms. priyanka Gusain

Ms. priyanka Gusain

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts

Posted Today, 04:14 AM

yes exactly!


  • 0

#17 Ms. priyanka Gusain

Ms. priyanka Gusain

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts

Posted Today, 04:48 AM

hi Ceyhan

 

yes I have offsets of a hullform and I want to develop or model that hull form using the offfsets and create its variants and finally see what will be the best hullform for a constant displacement.

 

Request if you could give some insight on this.

 

thanx!

 

cheers

Priyanka


  • 0