Sign in to follow this  
Mr. Patrick Michaels

Novice Hull Design Problems - Canoe Keel

I am a novice with CAESES, and am currently having some difficulties correctly modeling the keel of a canoe. I took the basic Yacht design tutorial as my starting point, and modified that heavily to get to where I am now. I am, however, having some difficulty getting the shape desired and would like some pointers. A few things that I am looking for:

1. I want to be able to set an angle of entry.

2. I'd like to be able to specify a rocker.

Most everything else I feel like I am fairly capable of figuring out, but I'm not quite sure how to deal with those two issues effectively. Attached is what I have done so far, and I feel fairly confident about most aspects of the design besides the keel. I'd like the hull to go along the curve I have defined for the keel now, though perhaps with less sharp edges.

This design will be used to make a concrete canoe, so one factor I have to consider with my design is constructability. What steps should I take to better fit the hull to the keel feature? I suspect the function definition will have to be changed, but I'm not sure how to do that effectively.

Thank you for the help!

Canoe2015-2016.fdbc

Patrick

Hi Patrick,

let me prepare something for you. I'll come back to you later. Btw: Maybe you can send me a picture of the canoe design you want to achieve. I googled "canoe design" and found quite a lot different types. Which one is your favorite?

Cheers

Matthias

Hi Patrick,

attached you can find my version of a canoe. It's basically a hull defined by keel line, waterline and deck line, closed by two surfaces at the aft and the bow.

For the two ending surfaces I used the feature "smooth joint to stem" which you can find in the section hull design. Both surfaces would probably need a bit of improvement.