Jump to content


- - - - -

"Maximum number of 2 instances is reached" with no instances open?


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Mr. Russell Barie

Mr. Russell Barie

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 21 January 2019 - 05:06 AM

Hello Everyone,

 

I have been having a problem lately where CAESES will shoot me an error reading "Maximum number of 2 instances is reached" on start up when there are no instances of the program running. The issue is unpredictable and seems to have no pattern to its occurrence.

 

Has anyone else had this problem? If so, have you been able to fix it?

 

-Rusty

Attached Thumbnails

  • Error.PNG

  • 0

#2 Mr. Carsten Fuetterer

Mr. Carsten Fuetterer

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 122 posts

Posted 21 January 2019 - 08:20 AM

Hi Rusty,

 

please try to remove all files in:

 

C:/ProgramData/boost_interprocess/FS_LICENSE_SHM2
C:/ProgramData/Application Data/boost_interprocess/FS_LICENSE_SHM2
C:/Users/All Users/boost_interprocess/FS_LICENSE_SHM2

 

best regards

Carsten


  • 0

Carsten Fütterer
M.Sc. Energy & Process Engineering
CAE Applications Engineer
www.friendship-systems.com
Tel. +49 (0)331 967 66 28

 


#3 Mr. Vahid Jafari

Mr. Vahid Jafari

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • LocationAugsburg, Germany

Posted 21 February 2019 - 09:15 AM

Hi Carsten,

 

I,m having the same problem like Rustys. The folder "C:/ProgramData/Application Data/boost_interprocess" doesn't exist on my pc, but I deleted the file "FS_LICENSE_SHM2" in the folder "C:/ProgramData/boost_interprocess".  Unfortunately it brought me nothing. I,m getting the same error like before. Any ideas how I can fix it?

 

 

Best regard,

Vahid


  • 0

#4 Ceyhan Erdem

Ceyhan Erdem

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 68 posts

Posted 22 February 2019 - 10:28 AM

Hi Vahid,

 

Please follow the procedure below;

 

Close all CAESES instances.
Remove the following files:

%PROGRAMDATA%/boost_interprocess/FS_LICENSE_SHM2
%PROGRAMDATA%/finterprocess/FS_LICENSE_SHM3

Start CAESES (without admin rights)

 

Please let me know if the problem is resolved or not.

 

Cheers

Ceyhan


  • 0

#5 Mr. Vahid Jafari

Mr. Vahid Jafari

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • LocationAugsburg, Germany

Posted 28 February 2019 - 10:08 AM

Hi Ceyhan,

 

Thank you so much for the response. The problem is gone now.

 

 

Cheers

Vahid


  • 0

#6 Mr. chris baki

Mr. chris baki

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts

Posted 13 March 2019 - 12:19 PM

Hi Vahid,

 

Please follow the procedure below;

 

Close all CAESES instances.
Remove the following files:

%PROGRAMDATA%/boost_interprocess/FS_LICENSE_SHM2
%PROGRAMDATA%/finterprocess/FS_LICENSE_SHM3

Start CAESES (without admin rights)

 

Please let me know if the problem is resolved or not.

 

Cheers

Ceyhan

Hello everyone,

 

I had a similar problem. 80% of times i tried to open a second Caeses project i got rejected and kept seeing that message (maximum number of 2 instances reached)

 

Deleted the above mentioned files and up to now everything seems to run smoothly.

 

Thank you,

Chris


  • 0

#7 Joerg Palluch

Joerg Palluch

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 472 posts
  • LocationBerlin, Germany

Posted 19 March 2019 - 02:38 PM

We'll handle these files differently in the upcoming versions, so this issue should be solved ... hopefully. Thanks to all for reporting. 


  • 0