Guest Mr. TAU SENG ANG

Optimization Of Bulbous Bows For Offshore Support Vessel

Guest Mr. TAU SENG ANG

Hi everyone, 

I am a beginner in using this software. I would like to know why i do not have the function to alter the Bulbous bows in Y direction. Is it because i am using the CAESES free version ? Because i am able to alter the bulbous bow in X and Z directions.

Dear Tau Seng Ang,

Thank you for posting this question.

Are you refering to a CAESES sample model?

It is possible to alter a bulbous in y directions.

Take a look at these samples. post-41-0-35489700-1446456283_thumb.png

You can find them in the documentation browser > samples > hull design > partial parametric modeling

The other hull design models might be of  interest for you.

If you have any other question do not hesitate to ask.

Cheers,

Karsten

Guest Mr. TAU SENG ANG__0003

Hi,

nope,i am referring to the bulbous bow of the offshore support vessel sample's. It seems like I can't modify the bulbous bow in the y direction. I would like to enquire whether is there a way to modify the bulbous bow in y direction for this particular bulbous bow? 

post-557-0-80602500-1455267497_thumb.jpg

Dear Tau Seng Ang,

it is possible, but not to an exact value. Please see the attached modified sample project. The bulb is defined by a BSplineCurve running between the surface 8_fos2fwdBase and the stem contour from keel upwards. I created the feature f1 which is used in the curve engine for the bulb in order to give you an impression of how it works.

post-45-0-57324700-1455295368_thumb.png